Ars Nova Singers 7th Colorado Composers Competition – 2018


The nationally-acclaimed Ars Nova Singers announces the 7th Colorado Composers Competition and calls upon all interested composers to submit original choral compositions for consideration. The competition will be open to composers in three categories:
            •  Students up to grade 12 in any Colorado schools, or home-schooled in Colorado.
            •  Undergraduate college students enrolled at any Colorado college or university.
            •  Professional composers and graduate students, either born in Colorado, or a current resident.

    •    January 15, 2018: Deadline for receipt of scores; review panel meets between January 16 and February 15.
    •    February 16, 2018: Announcement of award winners
    •    March-April, 2018: rehearsals of winning pieces; composers will be invited to attend one or more rehearsals
    •    April 27-28, 2018: Performance of winning compositions on our April concerts, The New Art: Music Beyond Words.

    Prizes include cash awards and two performances of selected works by Ars Nova Singers:
        $300 - Students up to grade 12
        $500 - Undergraduate college students
        $800 - Professional composers

Guidelines for works submitted
    •    Should be six minutes or less in duration.
    •    Original works only; arrangements will not be considered.
    •    Unpublished works only.
    •    Work must not have been previously performed in the state of Colorado.
    •    If the text is not public domain, include written permission from the copyright holder to use it.
    •    Secular or sacred.
    •    Restricted to following combinations of forces: a cappella choir (up to 12-part divisi, SSSAAATTTBBB voices),  Men’s voices (TTBB), Women’s voices (SSAA), or choir with one solo instrument (not keyboard, piano, or organ).

What to submit, and HOW
Submit all materials electronically, by email (or online link): Thomas Edward Morgan, Artistic Director:    
    •    One choral score per entrant, in a clear, readable form.
    •    MIDI file or mp3 of the score.
    •    Brief resume of composer, including educational background and complete list of compositions.

Prior winners of this contest may enter only after five years. Composers whose works have been performed by Ars Nova Singers in the past 3 years are not eligible. Current members of Ars Nova Singers and their immediately family members are not eligible. Winners will receive: cash prize, complimentary tickets to the April concerts for the composer and their family, and a recording of the concert performance.  Ars Nova Singers reserves the right to not issue an award in any of the categories, at the sole discretion of the judges. The judges may also acknowledge additional exemplary works in each category; if so designated, these works will not receive a cash award, though they may be considered for performance. All entrants will be notified of results. The decision of the panel will be final.

Please submit scores by midnight January 15, 2018 to this address:
Thomas Edward Morgan, Artistic Director:

Thomas Edward Morgan, Artistic Director: